Wednesday was the filing deadline for candidates wanting to run for Haines elected office and there are enough candidates to have a contest in two of the three races.

For the mayor’s race, incumbent Stephanie Scott has filed to run again and former mayor Jan Hill will be her challenger.

Five candidates have filed for the two open assembly seats being vacated by Jerry Lapp and Debra Schnabel – neither of those assembly members have chosen to run again. Vying for those seats will be Mike Case, Jerry Erny, Ron Jackson, Mario Benassi and Joe Parnell.

And there are three open seats on the Haines District School board – seats currently held by board president Anne Marie Palmieri, Secretary Treasurer Brenda Josephson and Brian Clay. Palmieri and Clay filed to run again for their seats, but no third candidate filed. If no one files to run as a write in candidate, the board will appoint a seventh member.

Skagway’s filing period closed Monday.

Local municipal elections take place October 7th.