Day: August 18, 2014

DOT transportation planners face skeptical crowd

By Joe Viechnicki – KFSK Petersburg       Note: Public meetings on the Southeast Alaska Transportation Plan are scheduled for Sept. 9 in Skagway (5:30-8:30 p.m. in Skagway City Hall) and Sept. 10 in Haines (5:30 to 8:30 in Haines Borough Assembly Chambers.)  Planners with the Alaska Department of Transportation fielded questions from a packed house of skeptical residents from Petersburg and Kupreanof last week. The DOT officials were vetting a draft of the state’s latest plan for transportation for Southeast. Local residents were concerned with a loss of ferry service. They also faulted the plan’s focus on construction of new roads while existing pavement goes unmaintained. (Listen to this story below.)   The document helps outline priorities for the state Department of Transportation over the next decade. The most recent Southeast Alaska Transportation Plan came out ten years ago. DOT highway planner Marie Heidemann explained the need for the plan update. “You know the purpose of the plan is partly because we need to meet requirements. We need to meet federal requirements; we also need to fulfill the requirement for an Alaska Marine Highway System long-range plan. But more important than that we need to every so often we need to revisit every so often what are the current trends that are happening in the region. What are the current projects and priorities of the state? We need to look...

Read More

UPDATE: Filing period closing soon for local elections

As of Tuesday morning, Aug. 19, the filing period has closed for Skagway local office. An official candidate list will be released later today, but candidates who have filed to run are: Assembly (2 seats, 3-year term ending 2017) Daniel J. Henry Roger W. Griffin Angela Grieser School Board (2 seats, 3-year term ending 2017) Cara L. Cosgrove Mark J. Smith Mary A. Tidlow In Haines, the filing period ends at 5 p.m. Wednesday. Candidates who have filed are: Mayor Stephanie Scott Jan Hill Assembly (two seats) Mike Case Jerry Erny Mario Benassi School Board (two seats) No candidates have yet filed Local elections for both communities will be held Oct....

Read More

KHNS News – Aug. 18, 2014

Tuesday is state primary election day. In this newscast, we review the races and the ballot measure on this primary’s ballot. Polls are open 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Tuesday across the state. Skagway residents vote at Skagway City Hall. Haines residents vote at the American Bald Eagle Foundation. Chilkat Valley residents vote at Klehini Volunteer Fire Department. Klukwan residents vote at the Klukwan ANS Hall. Questions? Contact the state Division of...

Read More